Cosmetologists can be found everywhere in New Hampshire, from a small store front operation to a large salon that offers additional services of massage and esthetics. As in other states, training and licensing is necessary to work in this industry.
New Hampshire law distinguishes 4 types of professionals in the hair care and esthetics industry. The four professionals are: barbers, cosmetologists, manicurists, and estheticians. Each professional has their own licensing requirements. Cosmetologists are the professionals focused primarily on hairdressing.
Cosmetologists in New Hampshire are required to have the following qualifications: (1) be of good character, (2) finish high school or the equivalent education, (3) complete 1500 hours in a school approved by the board of barbering, cosmetology, and esthetics, or 3000 hours of an apprenticeship during a time period of 18 months, (4) pass the board exam and pay licensing fees. By contrast, barbers require 800 hours of school training, manicurists require 300 hours of training, and estheticians require 600 hours of training. An apprenticeship option is also available for these three professionals. The other requirements remain the same across the 4 professional types.
Reciprocity of licensing from other states is allowed, provided that the licensing state’s requirements are equivalent or higher than those in New Hampshire. As of 8/2009, there were 14 licensed Cosmetology schools in the state.
The income potential for a licensed Cosmetologist in New Hampshire is very good. The average Cosmetologist in New Hampshire can expect to earn roughly $31,000 per year (bestsampleresume.com), which compares favorably with the average income in NH of $34,702 (en.wikipedia.org).
For more information on licensure in New Hampshire:
New Hampshire State Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics
2 Industrial Park Dr.
Concord, NH 03301